RamsThoughts

March 8, 2006 7:38 am

eastside blogger meetup 3/7/06

Filed under: Bloggers,community,Events,Tech — ramsblog @ 7:38 am

I was at the bloggers meetup this evening at Crossroads-Bellevue. I met with Jack Bell, Anita Rowland, Tommy Williams, Alex Barnett and Dennis Hamilton. I joined the discussion a little late, I think they were talking about RSS versions, and OPML when I got there. We then started sharing about the technology evolution in software industry, different languages from assembly to 4th generation language. I also heard about Fortran IV and Fortran 77. Oh! This takes me back to my college days where I learned Fortran programing on paper – Yes, writing programs on Papers without having access to computer labs – I know thats funny. So anyways, we were talking about blogging, vi editors, pascal, php, dhtml, java script, C, C#, Agile Management, etc etc…  What are some of your Aha! phases in your earlier days of programming? we shared some of our aha instances writing programming and getting fascinated into software technology.

Dennis shared an article that was written in 1960s and also shared about his career. Dennis Hamilton and I were at SeaSPIN  talk couple of weeks ago, I had missed to meet with him then and we caught up this time. 

Dennis shared an article that was written in 1960s and also shared about his career. Dennis Hamilton and I were at talk couple of weeks ago, I had missed to meet with him then and we caught up this time.   

Thank you Anita, for organizing this meetup

2 Comments »

  1. [...] Almost everyone else has posted a note about the meetup last night (Anita, Jack, Dennis, and Ram – but not Alex), so I’m a bit behind. We somehow manage to spend little of our time talking about blogging at these meetups but we still enjoy ourselves immensely. I’m disappointed that Anita (and Jack, I presume, though I didn’t get a chance to ask him) hasn’t been following Battlestar Galactica this season. The other folks I usually talk to about the show are still catching up from the first half of the season. I would love to know what they think about the Baltar-Six developments in the past few episodes. [...]

    Pingback by Tommy’s Blog » March Eastside Weblog Meetup — March 9, 2006 5:49 pm @ 5:49 pm | Reply

  2. [...] eBay invests in Meetup.com I checked my mail just now and got a message from the CEO of Meetup.com, Sott Heiferman, explaining that his company has just closed an investment round with eBay. He doesn’t say how much, and stresses that they’ve not been acquired. Here’s the relevant part of the mail. “Meetups are going so well that, alongside our existing investors, eBay just invested in Meetup.com! I love eBay. They use the internet to empower and connect people and make the world a better place. That’s exactly what Meetup is all about! They did NOT “buy the company”, they simply invested money that we’ll use to run and grow Meetup.com. Our hope is this will make everyone’s Meetups better. This news is something for us all to be proud of!” It wasn’t a personal mail of course, but my congratulations to Meetup.com anyway. Why do I care? I use them whenever I RSVP for the Seattle Webloggers Meetup. I went to another the other night. Good fun again – met up with Anita, Jack, Tommy and was introduced to Dennis and Ram. [...]

    Pingback by Alex Barnett blog : eBay invests in Meetup.com — March 10, 2006 3:08 am @ 3:08 am | Reply

  3. perceptive blog! http://www.eaststoneham.gmaine.com

    Comment by marmolejos — July 2, 2006 3:50 am @ 3:50 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

