RamsThoughts

September 7, 2006 5:48 am

Telephone Answering and Greetings etiquette…

Filed under: Customer Service,Miscellaneous,UX - User Experience — ramsblog @ 5:48 am

I know there must be already guidelines available to either setup the Out Of Office or holiday greetings on phone or / and leaving messages on phone recipient not picked up the call. Guy Kawasaki has recently pointed one such tip for leaving message on a missed call – no surprises and guess work; also say name and number at the begin and the end of the call [see #12 on this blog post].  Yes- I used to do that long time ago – that I would call my friends/cousins and ask them to guess who I was. I know that sounds funny if I recall it today, but I didn’t have to do that. I guess it would have been better off if I had just mentioned my name at first.  

How about the greeting messages we hear on some of the company / service industry phones?
I called up our doctor’s office over wee the week end. We know it was a labor day weekend and the offices would be closed. Since my wife wanted to see the doctor, I thought of just taking a chance and calling up that afternoon. It was about 1min and 49 seconds when I got an instruction to press what key to leave the message, after listening to all the story about why they are closed; when they would be open again; who can make appointments; what the next business day; etc etc et, al.  

Oh… one of the wireless telephone service also has the similar system. I called few of our friends in the past week (we mostly have different service providers), it took few instructions before I learned whether to press 9 or # to submit my voice message. In my opinion why not give submit option first and then proceed with further instructions? :)

1 Comment »

  1. This is a very good tip especially to those new to
    the blogosphere. Simple but very accurate info… Appreciate
    your sharing this one. A must read article!

    Comment by sales strategies — November 5, 2012 10:15 am @ 10:15 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

