RamsThoughts

June 16, 2008 7:38 pm

Individual Feedback questions …

Filed under: Mentorship,People,Personal — ramsblog @ 7:38 pm
Tags: ,

I have been asked to provide my observations (in other words, feedback) on few indivdiuals. At times it makes appropriate to lay out specific questions in terms of what they look for; however at times it is better to have an open ended questions viz., “what are the positive points you would like me to continue doing”? Name few weak points to work on? and so on. Both approaches have their own Pros and Cons. Anyways, questions to me were the exact these two open ended ones. I know it makes us think more at the same time it can be vague enough to provide the kind of feedback we provide. 

I wrote down a bunch of points for #1 “strengths to continue doing”. But when I move to the 2nd question, I don’t see many (or any). Is it because:

i. I don’t notice negative points at all?
ii. Individual does not have any weaknesses at al?
iii. I tend to ignore the weakness and help individual to strengthen the strengths?
iv. I tend to empower individuals and provide the opportunity to learn from their own mistakes ?
v. I don’t know How-To pick negative points?
vi. I lack a skill of pin-pointing little things that can be showcased as development activities?
vii. < or anything else?>

I had once started to write an article about Feedback mechanism and kept it on hold as I didn’t have answers to many of my questions. There are several questions that go around in my mind for a great feedback mechanism. I have read few books, although they appear great, it becomes harder when it comes to reality.

What has your experience been in feedback mechanism or providing valuable feedback?

wordpress.com Tags:
2 Comments »

  1. Points to ponder. I guess this is been a common experience ..

    I generally hesitate to point out negative points because I generally don’t like to loose relationships may it be professional or personal and most of the times the negative feedback brings some cracks in the relationship..

    Probably we should work on constructive critism or something like that.

    Also, pointing out positive things is no easy.. because if anything is given free then its valueless.. Hope I make some sense.

    Comment by Veena — June 26, 2008 9:55 am @ 9:55 am | Reply

  2. Thank you, Veena.
    regarding “if anything is given free then its valueless” –> I agree.

    Comment by ramsblog — June 26, 2008 2:27 pm @ 2:27 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

