RamsThoughts

October 27, 2008 7:23 am

Not keeping up finishing reading yet…

Filed under: Books,Hobby — ramsblog @ 7:23 am

Looks like I have started reading too many books at a time recently and not been able to complete any. I know there are many people around being able to start many books and complete them. I don’t know if they are speed readers or they are good at managing their time so they are able to finish their reading sooner. I also often hear from time management perspective that it is better to complete one book before starting reading another. Well, It has been hard for me to do, although I have tried that for sometime and I had liked it, then, since I had a satisfaction that I had completed reading at least one book.

I am currently reading the following books:

1. Whale Done
2. Debugging the Development Process
3. Millionaire Meditation
4. Code Complete 2 – by Steve McConnell
5. Raving Fans

I have liked the “Whale Done” very much. It talks about the relationship management, although takes an example of training a killer whale, but is very relevant to the people management at work or at home.

Debugging the Development Process” is very insightful in terms of learning what we do right and the things we do wrong as part of the software development process. this is mainly about debugging the process itself than debugging the code. Debugging in software development terminology is to find the defects and the process of troubleshooting and fixing the defects in a given application. However, the same is used in terms of the development process itself. It also depicts the examples of how a lead without crisp goal can push the team into chaos situation.

Millionaire Meditation” is a great book where author Paul Farrel goes on to explain about how anything you do can be a meditation depending on how you do it. Love and enjoy what you do and incorporate that as part of the meditation process. It doesn’t have to be a sit at one place for hours to perform meditation. I like this idea.

Code Complete” Just started reading this book, and not too far yet to say anything about this book yet.

Raving Fans” is all about customer service and the people relationship management.

 

Readers: How do you keep up with reading books.
       Do you block off some time every day/night?
       Do you complete one before moving on to another book?
      What is your style of reading?
      Are you a speed reader?

Technorati Tags:
1 Comment »

  1. 4. hello there and thank you for your information – I have definitely picked up something new from right here. I did however expertise several technical issues using this website, as I experienced to reload the site lots of times previous to I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your web host is OK? Not that I am complaining, but slow loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and could damage your high-quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Well I am adding this RSS to my e-mail and can look out for a lot more of your respective interesting content. Make sure you update this again very soon..

    Comment by Jen Jenny — July 23, 2011 10:00 am @ 10:00 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

