RamsThoughts

November 12, 2008 12:58 pm

I don’t want the birthday….

Filed under: Children,Communication,Events,Fun,Personal — ramsblog @ 12:58 pm

Two nights ago at the dinner table, I asked my 3yr old whether she wants to celebrate her birthday at home. She got excited and started saying lots of things. Two main points were

a. Cut the cake
b. have lots of her friends

I asked her for the names of her friends she wants to invite for her birthday. The list went on and on and on.

Oh about dinner table, my wife said why not make it a candle light dinner and we had dimmed another light and lit 3 big candles. It was a great time all three of us having dinner together. I think we missed soothing music, however, we wouldn’t have noticed the music while our daughter was talking around the time :)

Coming back to birthday conversation, to further on her ideas and plans:
me: I might be traveling and not be here for your birthday
V-  : (her face frowned and I sensed she was a bit sad)
me : (to make it more interesting) hmm…. perhaps, I can be around but your mommy might be traveling and she may not be able to make it.
V-  : (not said anything yet and frowned further with a different look in her eyes)
me and my wife :  (we were watching and now she breaks the silence)
V- : “I am NOT going to have my birthday – I need you both, else no birthday”  (and bursted in tears)

Although I felt bad for making such a joke with her but she got back to normal when we turned the conversation into going to a bounce for her birthday (we had her birthday scheduled at one of the bounce places for previous birthday)

1 Comment »

  1. Not fair on the poor child :-(

    Comment by Vijay — November 18, 2008 12:45 am @ 12:45 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

