RamsThoughts

May 2, 2006 5:27 am

Talking about top 10 lies of engineers…

Filed under: Tech — ramsblog @ 5:27 am

I noticed this post on Guy Kawasaki's blog titled top 10 lies of engineers. Coming from development background I can recall most of those comments I made. Well, there was one more that was favorite with some others I encountered –

  1. "It really worked yesterday, I don't know if somebody changed any environmental settings since then"
  2. "it is better not to recompile this program – not sure if something breaks on a new re-compiled components"
  3. "I followed the exact same code sample and didn't work – it seems to be working now"

My favorite one from the original post is “I'll comment the code, so that the next person can understand what I did.” but then it always takes few days to read his own code to understand and make any changes later on.

Well, I disagree for word "lie" in original post, though. They are not really lies per se, I think they are sort of cover / shield for the situations.

just a thought…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

