RamsThoughts

September 29, 2006 9:45 pm

MRI Scan experience

Filed under: Customer Service,Medical,Personal,Tech — ramsblog @ 9:45 pm

I recently consulted a doctor nearby for some reason and he recommended me to get the MRI scan done. Hmmm… As far as I remember I had never heard this acronym before. I had an appointment at the hospital for an MRI – it was great that the appointment was at late in the evening – and I didn’t have to be concerned about traffic jam. However, when I got there, Radiologists were ready with the apparatus set up, etc. A person greeted us (my wife and baby accompanied me) – He took me over to the Check-in window and he literally explained what MRI  (Magnetic Resonance Imaging)  was about and how the procedure goes etc. He said the MRI procedure itself will be for about 18 to 25 minutes.

MRIAfter I was done with the registration formalities, I got back to the MRI location. There was now another person incharge and they both kept my 20mo baby engaged and playing with her. It was indeed a good feeling. I was taken inside the MRI room. When I looked at the equipment – it made me comfortable as I had been through a similar machine a long time ago – CT scan. He explained me again about the process and gave me a head phone.

Once the process started – the music was turned on – I had opted for Classical soft music – I think a rock or metal would have been more appropriate to reduce the annoying machine noise – hehe. The process went on for about 25 minutes or so.  Getting inside the tunnel was as if going into a vacuum space or so; it was all empty around except for the machine and the noise. Anyways, I received the MRI report this morning and heard things are alright 🙂

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

