RamsThoughts

May 16, 2007 10:09 am

some branded chocolates – no longer suitable for Vegetarians?

Filed under: Eatables,Fun,Health and Nutrition,Personal — ramsblog @ 10:09 am

hmmm… that’s intersting. Most times when I go for lunch / snack meetings, the only thing(s) I could eat are raw vegetables and fruits, crackers (depends if wheat crackers available, since I was surprised to notice prawn/crab crackers and didn’t look different until i noticed a name or some one told me), chocolates and nuts with a cup of coffee/water/orange juice. I have found chocolotes were mostly available for snack time meetings. However, it appears like there comes the restriction for vegetarians for not being able to eat chocoloates as there will be animal product included in chocolate preparation now. See this article. [http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/6653175.stm?ls]

Alright I just mentioned about the  negative side of the aspect. Lets look at the brighter side. Agreed,I won’t be able to eat those chocolates now, and at the same time, i am not adding those unnecessary calories into my system. I can probably choose to drink more water instead of eating chocolates hehe…

Advertisements

8 Comments »

  1. Usually they put green dot in all “pure vegetarian” products , isn’t ? If not you can sue them 😉

    Comment by bachodi — May 19, 2007 8:43 pm @ 8:43 pm | Reply

  2. This reminds me of a post on Shruthi’s blog…on Pork Skin Chips….I am experiencing severe Deja Vu here

    Comment by Vani — May 22, 2007 9:22 pm @ 9:22 pm | Reply

  3. regarding “green dot” –> I started looking for such a dot after seeing this comment here. i haven’t noticed on all international brand products. yes, i noticed it on a recent purchase I made – Nissin vegetarian noodles.
    -Ram

    Comment by ramsblog — May 29, 2007 5:39 am @ 5:39 am | Reply

  4. Damn !!! No Snickers???

    Comment by Vijay — May 29, 2007 8:59 pm @ 8:59 pm | Reply

  5. Oh!! so that means, no more chocolates – will have to be careful… 😦

    @Bach, green dot is not displayed in most of the chocolate brands.. What I do is if no dot or ingredients not mentioned – then don’t take risk eating it 🙂

    Comment by Prashanth M — May 31, 2007 12:26 am @ 12:26 am | Reply

  6. I mostly do exactly what Prashanth mentioned here – read the ingredients (if they are packed) and look for familiar names. if there is anything unfamiliar and unheard of, I leave those items there. I have been asked a few times on why i look at the labels before eating and if I was dieting to read the dietary information 🙂

    Comment by ramsblog — May 31, 2007 1:13 pm @ 1:13 pm | Reply

  7. hi,
    i love BOUNTY & MARS. but nothing to beat CADBURY’S DIARY MILK.

    you have a great blog here. loved the poem on swami vivekananda.
    honoured to blogroll you.

    take care and regards
    your namesake

    Comment by rk — June 18, 2007 11:06 pm @ 11:06 pm | Reply

  8. thank you, RK

    thats right, cadbury’s dairy milk is my favorite too… my wife loves it very much. it is not available in all the stores around here, however, my eyes are always on candy shelves and looking for a CDM pack 🙂

    Comment by ramsblog — June 19, 2007 11:35 pm @ 11:35 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: