RamsThoughts

February 17, 2008 12:05 am

Can you hear me Ok?

Filed under: Communication,Events — ramsblog @ 12:05 am

Have you ever been to a talk sessions where a speaker comes up and says, “can you hear me ok?” in a slightly high tone?  As time goes along within 3 to 5 minutes, his tone is back to his normal tone and  –

  • people on row 5 can barely hear him;
  • people on row 10 can see the lip movements; and
  • people on row 15 have no clue if he even saying anything or listening to a question from somebody on row1 (‘coz of his blank eye expression on his face)

Some speakers do not want to use the microphone, thinking their voice is much better or if there is any other inconvenience using the microphone or if it is a status quo or any technical difficulties for that talk.

I usually experience this when I go for a technical talk sessions or even the classrooms – specially if I was a little late and had to grab the seat in middle rows or at the last.

I think next time when I hear this and when I am on a front row, I should crack up a joke to say “as long as you keep the same tone through out the talk, yes” 🙂

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

